News Center
ARC Welcomes New Board Members, Makes Committee Appointments

Atlanta — May 21, 2021

The Atlanta Regional Commission has sworn in seven new board members who join the 39-member board’s ongoing efforts to plan for the region’s successful future and improve quality of life in metro Atlanta. The new members are:

  • Lisa Cupid, Chairwoman, Cobb County Commission
  • Carlotta Harrell, Chairwoman, Henry County Commission
  • Lee Hearn, Chair, Fayette County Commission
  • Nicole Hendrickson, Chairwoman, Gwinnett County Commission
  • Murphy Talmadge, Citizen District 1 (Portions of DeKalb and Henry counties)
  • Alisha Sanders, Citizen District 6 (Portions of DeKalb, Gwinnett, and Rockdale counties)
  • Lynette Howard, Citizen District 10 (Portions of DeKalb and Gwinnett counties)

“We’re delighted to have our new members join the board and bring in new insights and experiences that will allow us to continue serving our region,” said ARC Board Chair Kerry Armstrong.

Armstrong has also made the following officer and committee appointments for 2021:

  • ARC Officers:
    • Vice Chair – Mayor Rochelle Robinson (Douglasville)
    • Secretary – Chairwoman Romona Jackson Jones (Douglas County Commission)
    • Treasurer – Bob Reeves (Citizen District 3)
  • Governance Committee:
    • Chair: Kerry Armstrong
    • Vice Chair: Rochelle Robinson
  • Budget and Audit Review Subcommittee: Chair: Bob Reeves
  • Ethics Committee: Chair: Romona Jackson Jones
  • Pension Board of Trustees: Chair: Kerry Armstrong
  • Strategic Relations Subcommittee: Chair: Mayor Eric Dial (Town of Tyrone)
  • Advisory Committee on Aging: Co-Chair: Romona Jackson Jones
  • Atlanta Regional Workforce Development Board:
    • Co-Chair: Randy Hayes
    • Co-Chair: Mayor Eric Dial
  • Community Resources Committee: Chair: Felicia Moore (Atlanta City Council President)
  • Transportation & Air Quality Committee:
    • Chair: Mark Matthews (Citizen District 14)
    • Vice Chair: Mayor Mike Mason (City of Peachtree Corners)
  • Urban Area Security Initiative: Chair: Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms (City of Atlanta)
  • Housing Subcommittee:
    • Co-Chair: Nicole Hendrickson, Gwinnett County Commission Chairwoman
    • Co-Chair: Rob Garcia, President of Pinnacle Financial Partners

“I look forward to working with our new board members as ARC continues important efforts to improve quality of life in metro Atlanta and tackle complex issues such as housing affordability and economic competitiveness,” said Doug Hooker, ARC Executive Director.

The 39-member ARC Board consists of the county commission chair from each of the 10 member counties, the mayor and a council member from the city of Atlanta, and a mayor from each of the 10 counties with the exception of Fulton, which has two mayoral representatives, one from North Fulton and one from South Fulton. The board also includes 15 citizen members selected by the board’s elected officials and a representative from the Georgia Department of Community Affairs.

The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) is the official planning agency for the 10-county Atlanta Region, including Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties as well as the city of Atlanta and 73 other cities. The Atlanta Regional Commission serves as a catalyst for regional progress by focusing leadership, attention and planning resources on key regional issues.

Contact Name: Paul Donsky
Contact Phone: 404-202-4662
Contact Email: