ARC Board and Governance

The ARC Board is comprised of 41 members from the 11-county Atlanta region and the City of Atlanta. The 11 counties that make up ARC are: Cherokee County, Clayton County, Cobb County, DeKalb County, Douglas County, Fayette County, Forsyth County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County, Henry County, and Rockdale County.

Board members include county commission chairs, designated mayors, and citizen representatives. A Georgia Department of Community Affairs representative also sits on the Board as a non-voting member.

ARC Governance infographic showing 11 county commission chairs, 12 mayors, 15 citizen members, Department of Community Affairs Representatives, Atlanta City Council Representative, and Mayor of Atlanta

Map of ARC Citizen Districts
ARC 2023 Citizen District Map
View the Citizen District map larger (PDF)
According to state law, the chair of each county commission is on the ARC Board, as is the Mayor of Atlanta and an Atlanta City Council representative. The mayors of each of the 11 counties select one of their own to represent them on the Board (Fulton County has two mayoral representatives, one from North Fulton and one from South Fulton). And there are 15 citizen districts, each representing roughly the same number of metro Atlanta residents. Each citizen member is nominated by one of the Board’s elected officials and then elected by all the elected officials.

ARC Board Meetings

The ARC Board meets six times a year on the on the second Wednesday of the month, typically every other month. Board meetings are open to the public and held at ARC’s offices at 229 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303. Please note that meeting times and places can sometimes change. Check the website or call ARC at 404-463-3100 to confirm.

Visit the ARC Board Portal for more detailed information about Board and committee meetings as well as Board member profiles.