Affordable Housing Project Group

Healthy & Housed

Everyone needs safe, high-quality housing that fits their budget.

Affordable housing creates a solid foundation for people’s lives, allowing them to build community connections, pursue training in education, seek well-paying jobs, and develop healthy lifestyles. It also ensures metro Atlanta remains successful and competitive in the decades to come. Ensuring everyone has access to quality, affordable housing is a key CATLYST goal, and our Affordable Housing Strategy Leadership Group will develop a regional housing framework that will help make this goal a reality.

Why This Is Important

Over the past few years, regional partners and local jurisdictions have increasingly looked to ARC for data and technical assistance to help address a range of housing challenges. As a result, in early 2018, ARC staff embarked on the creation of a Regional Housing Strategy to help our region’s communities identify solutions to specific housing issues.

Like many metro areas in America, the Atlanta region is in the midst of a significant housing deficit exacerbated by rising housing costs and stagnating wages. Thus far, the process to address these challenges has involved planning professionals, housing experts, data scientists, non-profit partners, and philanthropic organizations.

In line with this, CATLYST placed a high priority on the need for a regional housing strategy. To achieve this goal, we have asked that members of the CATLYST working group, who represent economic development, business, and elected leaders, join the others in the housing discussion to provide input into ARC’s Regional Housing Strategy.

Thanks to the diverse experience of our partners, CATLYST is uniquely suited to address the multifaceted challenges of ensuring that metro Atlanta’s affordable housing stock is increasing to meet demand for a range of incomes.

Strategy Leadership Group Members

The CATLYST Affordable Housing Strategy Leadership Group will participate in two in-person meetings. In between the meetings there will be opportunities for more involvement through monthly update emails and calls with ARC CATLYST and Community Development staff as they are researching and crafting the draft Regional Housing Strategy. Our Co-Chairs are listed below, along with a list of all Strategy Leadership Group members.

Photo of Jim Durrett

Jim Durrett, Co-Chair
Executive Director,
Buckhead CID



Photo of Meaghan Shannon-Vlkovic

Meaghan Shannon-Vlkovic, Co-Chair
VP & Market Leader,
Enterprise Community Partners


Group Member List

Leonard Adams - President/CEOQuest Community
Susan Adams - Senior Director of Policy, Atlanta Neighborhood Development Partnership
James Alexander - Southeast President, Mercy Housing
Stephen Arms - Managing Member, Marthasville Development
Max Bacon - Mayor, City of Smyrna
Grace Baranowski - Senior Policy Analyst, Department of Community Affairs
Dillon Baynes - Partner, Columbia Ventures LLC
Brandon Beach - Former President/CEO, North Fulton CID
Valeria Bernardo - Director, Office of Housing and Community Development
Kali Boatright - President/CEO, North Fulton Chamber of Commerce
Bill Bolling - Senior Advisor, Foodwell Alliance
Constance Callahan - Vice President, SunTrust Community Capital
Ann Carpenter - Senior Advisor of Community and Economic Development,
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Carmen Chubb - Deputy Commissioner, Department of Community Affairs
John Corcoran - VP of Housing Development Corporation, Housing Authority of DeKalb
Mark Crosswell - Managing Director of Social Impact Strategy, Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta
Tom Cunningham - Chief Economist, Metro Atlanta Chamber
Lisa Cupid - Commissioner, Cobb County
Andre Dickens - City Councilmember, City of Atlanta
Dan Drake - Interim Chief Operations Officer, DeKalb County School District
John Ernst - Mayor, City of Brookhaven
Doug Faust - Executive Director, Decatur Housing Authority
Frank Fernandez - VP of Community Development, Blank Foundation
Patti Garrett - Mayor, City of Decatur
Ray Gilley - President, Decide DeKalb Development Authority
Howard Grant - VP of External Affairs, Atlanta Housing Authority
Todd Greene - Executive Director,  Atlanta University Center Consortium
Kevin Greiner - CEO, Gas South
Bruce Gunter - President, Civitas
Scott Haggard - Director of Government Affairs, The ATL
Larry Haqq - Executive Director, Housing Authority of Fulton County
Laurel Hart - Division Director of Housing Finance, Department of Community Affairs
Lori Henry - Mayor, City of Roswell
Kathy Holland - Director, Gwinnett County Department of Planning and Development
Raphael Holloway - Executive Director, Gateway Center
Dan Immergluck - Professor, Georgia State University
Deborah Jackson - Mayor, City of Lithonia
Shannon James - Executive Director, Atlanta Aerotropolis Alliance
Dave James - VP and Wealth Advisor, BB&T
Marty Jones - Executive Director, Conyers Rockdale Economic Development Council
Sarah Kirsch - Executive Director, Urban Land Institute
Will Lambe - Director of Capital Solutions, Enterprise Community Partners
Kathryn Lawler - Executive Director,  Atlanta Regional Collaborative for Health Improvement
Karen Leone de Nie - VP & Community Affairs Officer, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Ben Limmer - Assistant General Manager, MARTA
Kate Little - Housing Consultant, KSL Consulting
Odetta Macleish-White - Executive Director, TransFormation Alliance
Cathryn Marchman - Executive Director, Partners for HOME
Nick Masino - Senior VP, Partnership Gwinnett
Penny Moceri - Atlanta Apartment Association
Craig Newton - Mayor, City of Norcross
John O'Callaghan - Executive Director, Atlanta Neighborhood Development Partnership
Rusty Paul - Mayor, City of Sandy Springs
Alicia Philipp - President, Community Foundation of Greater Atlanta
Taialieia Roberson - Wells Fargo
Rochelle Robinson - Mayor, City of Douglasville
Shannon Sagnot - Director, Henry County Community Development Department
Andy Schneggenburger - Policy Advisor, Councilmember Natalyn Archibong
Leonard Sledge - Executive Director, Development Authority of Henry County
Lejla Slowinski - Executive Director, Lawrenceville Housing Authority
Nathaniel Smith - Executive Director, Partnership for Southern Equity
Lonnie Smith - Philanthropy Manager, State Farm
Michael Spann - Executive Director, East Point Housing Authority
Margaret Stagmeier - Partner, Tristar
Khalfani Stevens - Executive Director, Development Authority of Clayton County
Wendy Stewart - Atlanta Market President, Bank of America
Dave Stockert - Director, Duke Realty Corporation
Bentina Terry - Senior VP, Georgia Power
Michael Thurmond - CEO, DeKalb County
Jon Toppen - Executive Director, Tapestry Development
Tene Traylor - Fund Advisor, Kendeda
Pete Waldrep - Executive Director, Marietta Housing Authority
Seth Weismann - Founder/Senior Parter, Weismann, P.C.
Chuck Young - Senior VP, Prestwick Comapnies

Latest CATLYST News

Leadership Group Meetings

Next Meeting

We are using ARC's existing housing meetings to advance this work. Contact Marisa at to join the Regional Housing Task Force or Advisory Council Meetings.

Meeting Materials

Powered by ARC
Community Planning Academy
Georgia Commute Options
Green Communities
Metro Atlanta Speaks
MNG Water Planning District
State of the Region
WorkSource GA
Community Planning Academy
Georgia Commute Options
Green Communities
Metro Atlanta Speaks
MNG Water Planning District
State of the Region
WorkSource GA