News Center
Atlanta Regional Commission Welcomes New Board Members

Posted on: Jan 24, 2018

(ATLANTA – January 24, 2018) The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) announced today that five new members have joined the ARC board and that six citizen members have been re-elected.

The new board members are:

  • Keisha Lance Bottoms, mayor, city of Atlanta
  • Felicia Moore, president, Atlanta City Council
  • Gene Hobgood, mayor, city of Canton
  • Vince Evans, mayor, city of Conyers
  • Robb Pitts, chairman, Fulton County Board of Commissioners
  • Charlton Bivins, citizen member (Clayton/Fulton)

Six citizen members were re-elected to another two-year term:

  • Eddie Ausband (DeKalb/Henry)
  • Dennis Burnette (Cherokee/Cobb)
  • Mike Houchard (DeKalb/Gwinnett/Rockdale)
  • Mickey McGuire (Atlanta/Cobb/DeKalb/Fulton)
  • Mark Mathews (Cobb)
  • Amol Naik (Atlanta/Fulton)

“ARC depends on the vision and leadership of our board members to help the Atlanta region move forward and improve quality of life for all residents,” said ARC board chairman Kerry Armstrong, who was elected to a third term in December. “We have a busy year ahead of us as we work to ensure that metro Atlanta remains one of the nation’s most vibrant, dynamic regions.”

The 39-member ARC Board consists of the county commission chair from each of the 10 member counties, the mayor and a council member from the City of Atlanta, and a mayor from each of the 10 counties with the exception of Fulton, which has two mayoral representatives, one from North Fulton and one from South Fulton. The board also includes a representative from the Georgia Department of Community Affairs and 15 citizen members selected by the board’s elected officials.

The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) is the official planning agency for the 10-county Atlanta Region, including Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties as well as the City of Atlanta and 72 other cities.  The Atlanta Regional Commission serves as a catalyst for regional progress by focusing leadership, attention and planning resources on key regional issues.