News Center
ARC Board Approves Update to Regional Transportation Improvement Program


17 Livable Centers Initiative Projects from Across the Region Receive Approval

Atlanta — Mar 09, 2022

The Atlanta Regional Commission Board today approved an update to the region’s Transportation Improvement Program that includes funding for 17 Livable Centers Initiative (LCI) projects across the metro region.

LCI is a grant program that assists local jurisdictions in transforming their communities into more vibrant, walkable places that offer increased mobility options and support community health and economic opportunity.

The LCI projects included in this round of funding include:

  • Transforming a stretch of Peachtree Street in downtown Atlanta into a “shared space” to better accommodate pedestrians and bicyclists and create a livelier street-level environment.
  • Reimagining Douglasville’s Fairburn Road from a high-speed roadway into a green street with hundreds of additional trees, street parking, and space for foot and bike traffic alike.
  • Extending the Silver Comet Trail into Powder Springs to further connect the Cobb County community to critical services throughout the county by expanding access to the largest trail in metro Atlanta.

The 17 approved LCI projects will be funded with over $10 million from the Transportation Improvement Program, or TIP, which programs federal and state funding for transportation projects across metro Atlanta. Changes to other projects submitted by GDOT are also a part of this amendment to the TIP.

“These projects will help create safer, more accessible communities by investing in pedestrian and cycling infrastructure across the region,” said John Orr, Managing Director of ARC’s Transportation and Mobility Access group. “Prioritizing transportation infrastructure beyond cars is critical to building a cleaner and more vibrant metro Atlanta.”

The proposed 17 LCI TIP projects are, by county:

Fulton County

  • North Point Alpha Link (City of Alpharetta)
  • Peachtree Shared Space (City of Atlanta, Atlanta Downtown Improvement District)
  • Moreland & Dekalb Interchange & Trail Connection Scoping Study (City of Atlanta & Little Five Points Community Improvement District) (project is partially in DeKalb County)

Gwinnett County

  • Buford Multi-Use Trail Phase II (City of Buford)
  • Satellite Boulevard – Loop Trail Segment 3 & 4 (Gwinnett County, Sugarloaf CID)
  • Innovation District Multi-Use Trail, Phase 2 (City of Peachtree Corners)
  • SR-20 Pedestrian Bridge and Downtown Greenway (City of Sugar Hill)
  • Suwanee Loop Trail Network (City of Suwannee)

Cobb County

  • Silver Comet Trail Connector (City of Powder Springs)

DeKalb County

  • New Peachtree Road Multi-Use Path Phase II (City of Doraville)
  • North Shallowford Road Path (City of Dunwoody)

Clayton County

  • Forest Parkway & Main Street Pedestrian Bridge Feasibility Study (City of Forest Park)

Cherokee County

  • Bells Ferry Corridor Multi-Use Trail (Cherokee County)
  • Holly Street Pedestrian Improvements (City of Holly Springs)

Douglas County

  • Fairburn Road Corridor Complete Street Project (City of Douglasville)

Newton County

  • Hwy 278 Trail & Safety Improvements (Phase 2) (City of Covington)

Barrow County

  • Bicycle and Pedestrian Improvements (City of Winder)

Additional details about the project list can be found at For complete information about the TIP Amendment #4, go to

The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) is the official planning agency for the 11-county Atlanta Region, including Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties as well as the City of Atlanta and 74 other cities. The Atlanta Regional Commission serves as a catalyst for regional progress by focusing leadership, attention and planning resources on key regional issues. 


Contact Name: Olivia Haas
Contact Phone: 470-378-1516
Contact Email: