News Center
ARC Selects 56 Leaders for 2018 Regional Leadership Institute

The Atlanta Regional Commission has selected 56 public, private, education, and nonprofit leaders from metro Atlanta to take part in the 2018 Regional Leadership Institute (RLI). RLI participants will explore key regional issues facing metro Atlanta, from transportation to housing, during the immersive, week-long leadership development program held in Savannah Sept. 30 - Oct. 5.

The 2018 RLI class will have much to discuss, as metro Atlanta’s future success is increasingly tied to regional issues that cross city and county boundaries. For example, the recent establishment of the Atlanta Transit Link Authority (The ATL) has given efforts to expand regional transit options newfound momentum. And local political and business leaders are increasingly concerned about the declining stock of affordable housing available in the region.

Lara Smith

Managing Director, Dad's Garage Theatre

“It’s critically important that our region’s leaders learn to think regionally. That’s what RLI is all about,” said Doug Hooker, ARC Executive Director. “The program also provides an opportunity for community leaders to get to know one another and build the relationships needed to tackle our region’s challenges collaboratively.”

Since 1991, more than 1,500 leaders from the business, government, education, and nonprofit sectors have participated in the RLI program. The curriculum covers topics ranging from transportation and air quality to education, water, and economic development.

“RLI challenged us as leaders to look beyond our particular perspective and recognize that there are many different perspectives out there,” said Corey Hambrick, chief of staff, Rockdale County Board of Commissioners, who was a member of the 2017 RLI class.

“The Regional Leadership Institute experience has not only deepened my awareness of the challenges facing the region, but has allowed me to interact with fellow decision makers and seek out innovative solutions to move our region forward collectively. It was one of my best experiences!”

Nicole Hendrickson, Gwinnett County Government,
Community Outreach Program Director; Class of 2016

For more information about RLI, visit

2018 RLI Participants

Lisa Anders- Executive Director, Explore Gwinnett

Andrea Arnold- Asst. City Manager, City of Decatur

Grace Baranowski- Housing Policy Analyst, Georgia Dept. of Community Affairs

Tsedey Betru- Manager of Community Affairs & Strategic Initiatives, Invest Atlanta

Denise Brinson- Asst City Manager, City of Suwanee

Rhonda Burnough- State Representative District 77, Georgia House of Representatives

Imara Canady- Regional Director of Community Engagement & Communications, AIDS Healthcare Foundation

Park Cannon- State Representative District 58, Georgia House of Representatives

Kevin Crump- Director of Center for Business Services, ARC

Armond Davis- CEO, Paragon Construction Group

Dorian DeBarr- VP of Finance & Administration, Decide DeKalb Development Authority

Andre Dickens- City Councilman, City of Atlanta

Alfred Dixon- Councilmember, City of Jonesboro

Brandon Fleming- Executive Director, Harvard Diversity Project

Ariel Fristoe- Co-Artistic Director, Out of Hand Theater

Cicely Garrett- Deputy Chief Resilience Officer, City of Atlanta Mayor’s Office of Resilience

Joseph Geierman- Council Member, City of Doraville

Evangeline George- Public Affairs Manager, Uber

Annie Gillespie- Director of Engineering, State Road & Tollway Authority

Elyse Hammett- VP of Marketing & Communication, Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta

Bambie Hayes-Brown- President & CEO, Georgia Advancing Communities Together, Inc.

Charlie Henn- Partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP

Toni Holmes- Director of Department of Talent Management, Rockdale County Government

James Holmes- Senior VP/North Fulton & Forsyth County Market President, BB&T

Zenith Houston- Director of Posse Atlanta, The Posse Foundation

Steve Hutchison- Mayor, City of Hampton

Heather Infantry- Executive Director, Generator

Jeff (Yan) Jiang- President, Chinese Entrepreneur Club

Deyanna Jones-Respress- Director of External Affairs, Comcast

Nick Juliano- Public Affairs Manager for the Southeast, Uber

Stacey Key- Board Member, Georgia Department of Transportation

Monica Khant- Executive Director, Georgia Asylum & Immigration Network

Amy Lancaster- Director of Workforce Development, Metro Atlanta Chamber

David Ledford- Director of Construction, Fischer Contractors, LLC

Benjamin Limmer- Asst. General Manager for Planning, MARTA

Linnea Miller- Councilmember, City of Suwanee

Donald Mitchell- Mayor Pro Tem, City of Alpharetta

Errika Moore- Executive Director, TAG Education Collaborative

Theodis Pace- Deputy Council Staff Director for Atlanta City Council, City of Atlanta

Cristina Pastore- Transportation Planner/Traffic Engineer, Kimley-Horn & Associates, Inc

Timothy Preece- Transportation Planning Manager, VHB

Kristy Rachal- Community Development Manager, Georgia Power

Sara Ray- President & CEO, Douglas County Chamber

Dana Rickman- VP, Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education

Ronald Roberts- Planning & Zoning Manager, Douglas County

Neat Robinson- Councilmember, City of Stockbridge

Janice Robinson- Executive Director for Volunteer Involvement Program, United Way of Greater Atlanta

Josh Rowan- Chief Innovation Officer, MBP

Michelle Schreiner- Board Chair, Athena’s Warehouse

Carmenlita Scott- President & CEO, ATL Airport Chamber, Inc.

Amy Selby- Executive VP of Marketing & Communications, Cobb Chamber of Commerce

Will Sellers- Collaboration Program Manager, Food Well Alliance

Nzinga Shaw- Senior VP and Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer, Atlanta Hawks & Philips Arena

Vett Vandiver- Director of Communications, Georgia Early Education Alliance for Ready Students (GEEARS)

Larry Vincent- Atlanta Area Manager & Liaison to Fulton County Board of Commissioners, Georgia Power

Sandra Vincent- Councilwoman, City of McDonough