Gwinnett County

Gwinnett County was formed in 1818 from lands obtained from the Creek and Cherokee Indians. It is named after Button Gwinnett, one of Georgia’s signers of the Declaration of Independence.

Notable landmarks include Infinite Energy Arena, Lake Lanier and the BAPS Shri Swaminarayan Mandir Hindu Temple. Large employers include Gwinnett Medical Center, Cisco Systems and Primerica.

Gwinnett has experienced strong growth in the past decade and has become one of the most populous and diverse counties in Georgia.

Within Gwinnett County are the cities of Auburn*, Berkeley Lake, Braselton*, Buford*, Dacula, Duluth, Dunwoody*, Grayson, Lawrenceville, Lilburn, Loganville*, Norcross, Peachtree Corners, Rest Haven*, Snellville, Sugar Hill, and Suwanee.

Gwinnett County by the Numbers (2021)

Population 964,546
Population Change (since 2010) +19.8%
Population Forecast (2050) 1,484,742
Median Household Income $73,460
Unemployment Rate 2.9%
Median Travel Time to Work 34 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 4,285 units
Multifamily Building Permits 469 units

View ARC's 21-County Dashboard where you can find various data points about Gwinnett County.

Data Resources

Other Gwinnett County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing Gwinnett County

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, County Population Estimates, 2021
  • US Census Bureau, Small-Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2020
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (5-year estimates), 2016-2020
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 16 Forecasts
  • HUD, State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS), 2021


* These cities belong to more than one county.