Fulton County

Fulton County was created in 1853 out of the western half of DeKalb County. In 1932, due to financial concerns stemming from the Great Depression, two counties -- Milton (to the north) and Campbell (to the south) -- merged into Fulton.

Notable landmarks include the Georgia State Capitol, Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area and the High Museum of Art. Large employers include Delta Air Lines, Georgia Institute of Technology and Sun Trust Banks.

Fulton continues to experience robust growth and remains the most populous county in Georgia.

Within Fulton County are the cities of Atlanta*, Alpharetta, Chatahoochee Hills, College Park*, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Johns Creek, Milton, Mountain Park*, Palmetto*, Roswell, Sandy Springs, Union City, and South Fulton.

Fulton County by the Numbers (2017)

Population 1,041,423
Population Change (since 2010) +12.5%
Population Forecast (2040) 1,264,376
Median Household Income $65,037
Unemployment Rate 4.8%
Mean Travel Time to Work 29.3 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 3,766 units
Multifamily Building Permits 5,258 units

Fulton County Data Resources

Other Fulton County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing All or Parts of Fulton

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, Subcounty Intercensal Population Estimates, 2000 to 2009
  • US Census Bureau, County Characteristics Resident Population Estimate, 2010 to 2017
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (1-year estimates), 2017
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 15 Forecasts, 2015-16
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS), 2017


* These cities belong to more than one county.