Fayette County

Fayette County was formed in 1821 out of parts of the lands of the Creek Indian Nation and is named after Marquis de LaFayette, who, though from France, was one of Gen. George Washington’s key commanders during the Revolutionary War.

Notable landmarks include the historic Fayette County Courthouse, Starr's Mill and Lake Peachtree. Large employers include Piedmont Fayette Hospital, NCR and Cooper Lighting.

Fayette experienced a population boom in the early 2000's and is one of the most affluent counties in the state of Georgia.

Within Fayette County are the cities of Brooks, Fayetteville, Peachtree City, Tyrone, and Woolsey.

Fayette County by the Numbers (2019)

Population 114,421
Population Change (since 2010) +7.4%
Population Forecast (2050) 147,415
Median Household Income $92,172
Unemployment Rate 2.4%
Mean Travel Time to Work* 32 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 415 units
Multifamily Building Permits 2 units
Below is ARC's 21-County Dashboard where you can find various data points about Fayette County.

Fayette County Data Resources

Other Fayette County Resources

ARC board members representing all or parts of Fayette

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, County Population Estimates, 2019
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (1-year estimates), 2019
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 16 Forecasts
  • HUD, State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS), 2019

* Showing 2012-16 (5-year average) data due to lack of 2017 (1-year) data for this county