Douglas County

Douglas County formed in 1870, carved out of Carroll, Campbell (now Fulton) and Cherokee counties. It is named after Abraham Lincoln’s famous rival for congress and the presidency, Stephen A. Douglas.

Notable landmarks include Sweetwater Creek State Park and Clinton Nature Preserve. Large employers include Silver Line Building Products, APL Logistics and WellStar Douglas Hospital.

Douglas has grown steadily in the past decade and has seen its population become much more diverse.

Within Douglas County are the cities of Austell*, Douglasville, and Villa Rica*.

Douglas County by the Numbers (2021)

Population 145,814
Population Change (since 2010) +10.1%
Population Forecast (2050) 192,481
Median Household Income $65,269
Unemployment Rate 3.6%
Mean Travel Time to Work** 34 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 615 units
Multifamily Building Permits 1,024 units
View ARC's 21-County Dashboard where you can find various data points about Douglas County.

Douglas County Data Resources

Other Douglas County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing Douglas County

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, County Population Estimates, 2021
  • US Census Bureau, Small-Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2020
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (5-year estimates), 2016-2020
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 16 Forecasts
  • HUD, State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS), 2021


  * These cities belong to more than one county.