DeKalb County

DeKalb County was formed in 1822 and named after Baron Johann DeKalb, who was a general with the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War.

Notable landmarks include Stone Mountain Park, Emory University and Arabia Mountain National Heritage Area. Large employers include AT&T Mobility and Emory Healthcare.

DeKalb is the fourth-most populated county in metro Atlanta and has one of the region’s most diverse populations.

Within DeKalb County are the cities of Atlanta*, Avondale Estates, Brookhaven, Chamblee, Clarkston, Decatur, Doraville, Dunwoody*, Lithonia, Pine Lake, Stonecrest, Stone Mountain, and Tucker.

DeKalb County by the Numbers (2021)

Population 757,718
Population Change (since 2010) +9.5%
Population Forecast (2050) 1,012,022
Median Household Income $69,545
Unemployment Rate 3.4%
Mean Travel Time to Work 32 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 1,871
Mutlifamily Building Permits 973
View ARC's 21-County Dashboard where you can find various data points about DeKalb County.

Data Resources

Other DeKalb County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing All or Parts of DeKalb County

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, County Population Estimates, 2021
  • US Census Bureau, Small-Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2020
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (5-year estimates), 2016-2020
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 16 Forecasts
  • HUD, State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS), 2021


* These cities belong to more than one county.