Cobb County

Formed in 1832, Cobb County was originally part of Cherokee County and was named after Judge Thomas Willis Cobb, a U.S. Senator.

Notable landmarks include Kennesaw State University, the Marietta National Cemetery and Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park. Large employers include WellStar Health System, Lockheed Martin Aeronautical and Cobb County Schools.

Cobb has experienced substantial growth in the past few decades and has become one of the most populated counties in the region.

Within Cobb County are the cities of Acworth, Austell*, Kennesaw, Marietta, Powder Springs, and Smyrna.

Cobb County by the Numbers (2018)

Population 756,865
Population Change (since 2010) +10%
Population Forecast (2050) 1,035,796
Median Household Income $75,153
Unemployment Rate 5%
Mean Travel Time to Work 32 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 1,673 units
Multifamily Building Permits 1,117 units

Data Resources

Other Cobb County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing Cobb

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, County Population Estimates, 2018
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (1-year estimates), 2018
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 16 Forecasts
  • HUD, State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS), 2018


* This city belongs to more than one county.

NOTICE: Gov. Brian Kemp has extended a public health emergency declaration and a statewide shelter-in-place order for older adults and medically fragile residents through June 12.

The Atlanta Regional Commission office at 229 Peachtree Street, NE Atlanta, is closed to the public until further notice. All employees are working remotely and conducting business operations. ARC employees can be contacted directly during normal business hours. However, if you need immediate assistance call 404-463-3100.

If you are seeking resources for older persons and individuals with disabilities, contact us at404-463-3333 or visit

Learn more about impacted programs, meetings, and events as well as helpful resources for businesses and local governments…