Clayton County

Clayton County was formed in 1858 out of portions of Fayette and Henry counties. It was named after Judge Augustin S. Clayton, who served in the Georgia General Assembly.

Notable landmarks include Clayton State University, Spivey Hall, the National Archives at Atlanta and Reynolds Nature Preserve. Large employers include Delta TechOps, Southern Regional Medical Center and Fresh Express.

Clayton’s population, relatively flat in the years following the financial crisis, is growing as the county’s economy strengthens. At 143 square miles, Clayton is the third-smallest county in the state and the second-smallest in the 10-county region, larger only than Rockdale County.

Within Clayton County are the cites of College Park*, Forest Park, Jonesboro, Lake City, Lovejoy, Morrow, and Riverdale.

Clayton County by the Numbers (2017)

Population: 285,153
Population Change (since 2010) + 9.7%
Population Forecast (2040) 327,552
Median Household Income $45,172
Unemployment Rate 5.8%
Mean Travel Time to Work 29.7 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 411
Multifamily Building Permits 0

Data Resources

Other Clayton County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing Clayton County

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, Subcounty Intercensal Population Estimates, 2000 to 2009
  • US Census Bureau, County Characteristics Resident Population Estimate, 2010 to 2017
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (1-year estimates), 2017
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 15 Forecasts, 2015-16
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS), 201


* This city belongs to more than one county.

The Atlanta Regional Commission office at 229 Peachtree Street, NE Atlanta, is closed to the public until further notice. All employees are working remotely and conducting business operations. ARC employees can be contacted directly during normal business hours. However, if you need immediate assistance call 404-463-3100.

If you are looking to connect with resources and services for older persons and individuals with disabilities in the Atlanta Metro area, please contact us at 404-463-3333. You can also visit to find information.

Learn more about impacted programs, meetings, and events as well as helpful resources for businesses and local governments…