Cherokee County

Cherokee County was formed in 1830 from Cherokee Indian lands and was later divided into 24 additional counties.

Notable landmarks include Reinhardt University, Georgia National Cemetery, Gibbs Gardens, and portions of Lake Allatoona. Large employers include Pilgrim’s Pride, Chart Industries and Inalfa Roof Systems.

Cherokee has grown rapidly over the past 15 years and is now the sixth-largest in the Atlanta region.

Within Cherokee County are the cities of Ball Ground, Canton, Holly Springs, Mountain Park*, Nelson*, Waleska, and Woodstock.

Cherokee County by the Numbers (2018)

Population 254,149
Population Change (since 2010) +17.3%
Population Forecast (2050) 374,821
Median Household Income $79,670
Unemployment Rate 4.3%
Mean Travel Time to Work 36 minutes
Single Family Building Permits 2,236
Multifamily Building Permits 1264

Data Resources

Other Cherokee County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing Cherokee County

Data Sources

  • US Census Bureau, County Population Estimates, 2018
  • US Census Bureau, American Community Survey (1-year estimates), 2018
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), Series 16 Forecasts
  • HUD, State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS), 2018


* These cities belong to more than one county.


NOTICE: Gov. Brian Kemp has extended a public health emergency declaration and a statewide shelter-in-place order for older adults and medically fragile residents through June 12.

The Atlanta Regional Commission office at 229 Peachtree Street, NE Atlanta, is closed to the public until further notice. All employees are working remotely and conducting business operations. ARC employees can be contacted directly during normal business hours. However, if you need immediate assistance call 404-463-3100.

If you are seeking resources for older persons and individuals with disabilities, contact us at404-463-3333 or visit

Learn more about impacted programs, meetings, and events as well as helpful resources for businesses and local governments…