Fulton County

Fulton County was created in 1853 out of the western half of DeKalb County. In 1932, due to financial concerns stemming from the Great Depression, two counties — Milton (to the north) and Campbell (to the south) — merged into Fulton.

Notable landmarks include the Georgia State Capitol, Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area and the High Museum of Art. Large employers include Delta Air Lines, Georgia Institute of Technology and Sun Trust Banks.

Fulton, which includes the City of Atlanta, continues to experience robust growth and remains the most populous county in Georgia.

Fulton County by the Numbers

Population 1,011,562
Population Change (2000-2015) +9.1%
Population Forecast (2040) 1,264,376
Median Household Income $59,911
Unemployment Rate 5.8%
Mean Travel Time to Work 27.6 minutes
2015 Building Permits (single family) 3,016
2015 Building Permits (multifamily) 6,689

Fulton County Data Resources

Other Fulton County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing All or Parts of Fulton