Clayton County

Clayton County was formed in 1858 out of portions of Fayette and Henry counties. It was named after Judge Augustin S. Clayton, who served in the Georgia General Assembly.

Notable landmarks include Clayton State University, Spivey Hall, the National Archives at Atlanta and Reynolds Nature Preserve. Large employers include Delta TechOps, Southern Regional Medical Center and Fresh Express.

Clayton’s population, relatively flat in the years following the financial crisis, is growing as the county’s economy strengthens. At 143 square miles, Clayton is the third-smallest county in the state and the second-smallest in the 10-county region, larger only than Rockdale County.

Clayton County by the Numbers

Population: 273,955
Population Change (2000-15) + 5.5%
Population Forecast (2040) 327,552
Median Household Income $41,731
Unemployment Rate 7.5%
Mean Travel Time to Work 31.1 minutes
2015 Building Permits (single family) 427
2015 Building Permits (multifamily) 0

Data Resources

Other Clayton County Resources

ARC Board Members Representing Clayton County